hosttimes.blogg.se

Is garritan orchestra better than notion 5
Is garritan orchestra better than notion 5




is garritan orchestra better than notion 5
  1. #Is garritan orchestra better than notion 5 update#
  2. #Is garritan orchestra better than notion 5 Patch#

A lot of the Garritan community are sitting and patiently waiting for an updated strings library from Garritan, so the lack of string techniques/flexibility may be corrected by a new library at some point. I need to add that if Garritan releases an advanced string library (something that's been rumored for a while now), then you can implement those patches fairly seamlessly into Notion's rule set. I think mixing various libraries together is the logical next step in ensemble building and, fortunately, Notion makes this process very easy to set up and adjust.ĭoes that help? pcartwright Posts: 796 Joined: Sat 2:47 pm Garritan products emphasize the technique of ensemble building (using different samples from the Garritan libraries to form a more realistic sound). On the whole, I think blending the two libraries together has a very nice sound. Notion's percussion sound pretty good and there's not need for rules tinkering. Therefore, it's impractical, if not impossible, to fine tune the playback of these instruments via the current rules system (especially for techniques like unmeasured tremolo, alternating hits, etc), so I usually stick with Notion's percussion.

#Is garritan orchestra better than notion 5 Patch#

GPO is designed this way so that you can play multiple instruments live from one patch however, because Notion only has one instrument-ID for the patch, you can't isolate one cymbals rules from another.

is garritan orchestra better than notion 5

These patches have multiple instruments and different keyswitches to trigger various techniques which are all grouped together (this will make sense as soon as you try loading these instruments in Aria). I can use GPO's snare and bass drum as well as the melodic percussion without a problem, but GPO includes a cymbals patch, a general percussion patch, etc. The rules method/syntax employed by Notion don't really support GPO's percussion. This works pretty well however, there are certain expressions that work better if you utilize the overlay patches via a sequencer staff separate from the notated part this is beneficial because you can manipulate the sequencer staff separately and uniquely compared to the main instrument staff (let me know if that makes sense it can be a weird concept/technique to learn at the beginning).Ĥ. I tend to layer these with each part (that is, I assign an overlay part in the same Aria instance and give it the same MIDI channel as the solo patch). The best results come from mixing the GPO solo brass patches with the GPO overlay patches. I think GPO's brass is pretty good however, it takes a bit of experimentation and practice. You can certainly combine these with Notion's woodwinds with good results, but I just like GPO's woodwinds (this, I think, is completely subjective).ģ. Most GPO woodwinds have multiple solo woodwind and brass files, so layering these sounds between woodwinds pairs usually gives the most cohesive sound.

is garritan orchestra better than notion 5

I think GPO's woodwinds are some of the best sounding woodwind samples out there, and I tend to use them first and foremost. I still use GPO, but I like to layer the solo and section sounds underneath Notion in the mix (to give the strings a little more depth).Ģ. Notion's strings (especially with the expansion sounds) go a lot further than GPO. I think that GPO's strings (apart from the harps) are the weakest part of the library (the harps sound great I think I read somewhere that Gary Garritan was or is a harpist, but I'm not sure). The rules in their current form can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1285

#Is garritan orchestra better than notion 5 update#

I actually have update my rules slightly (and have a few more ideas), so I'll post an update in the not too distant future (as time allows). I have uploaded my own rules and instrument default files to the forum that better utilize GPO's legato features as well as a few other less common techniques. The default rules, in my opinion, fall a little bit short. Just to give you fair warning, I ramble a little bit in this response.






Is garritan orchestra better than notion 5